What happens to a Direct Message after it's been opened?

Once a Direct Message has been opened for the first time an expiry limit, that has been predefined by you, will 'kick in'. The expiry limits available are:

  • Never
  • 1 hour
  • 1 day
  • 1 week

The recipient will always be able to access the contents of anything sent with an expiry of Never.  If anything else is chosen, the message and any documents it contains will not be available to the recipient after the timeframe set.

The expiry limit is set within the message model:

Screen_Shot_2018-07-31_at_14.58.47.png

Once the recipient opens the link to access the message, they will be able to see details of when the message will expire:

Image_2018-08-01_at_2.55.00_pm.png

You can see this information after a message has been sent in the Message Header within the Message Summary by clicking on View Header:

Image_2018-07-31_at_3.23.41_pm.png

If a recipient tries to access an expired Direct Message they will be taken to a portal page to be advised that the message no longer exists:

Image_2018-07-31_at_3.30.54_pm.png

Expired messages will continue to be visible in the Messages tab of the Patient Summary.  You will see details on messages which have expired once you click to open the message.  The status indicator next to Message Summary will include Expired:

Image_2018-07-31_at_2.44.59_pm.png

If the information contained within the message needs to be sent again after it has expired, a new Direct Message should be created. 

 

 Related Article

How do I send a Direct Message?

 

 

Need More Help?

We understand that not everything is black and white, so if you need some help, click "Submit A Request" ticket and one of our team will help you out as soon as possible.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk