If you cancel appointments for a patient by completely removing them from the diary, you can set up a communication trigger using the "trigger event" Delete Appointment - This and Future.
When you use the delete icon to completely remove a recurring appointment from your diary, and choose "All" when prompted, your patient will be sent a communication to advise that their recurring appointment has been removed:
There is a predefined template within WriteUpp, called Delete recurring appointment, which can be used alongside the trigger event for this purpose. You can of course modify this to customise it to your requirements, or create a custom template to use.
Please note that in order to receive appointment communications, patients must have been opted in to these on the patient tab of the patient summary.
If you'd like to set this up, just follow the steps below:
1. Go to Main Menu -> Settings -> Scheduling -> Appointment communication:
2. Click on Create New Communication Trigger:
3. Use the dropdown boxes to create your communication trigger, then Save:
- Delivery method - How would you like your patients to be informed?
- Message template - What message would you like to send them?
- Trigger event - Delete appointment - This and Future
- When - Immediate
4. The new communication trigger will be added to the list:
Once this is set up, if you remove a series of appointments from the diary within WriteUpp, the specified message will be sent to patients opted in via the relevant channel.
This applies to appointments removed via either the web based verion of WriteUpp or if you are working via the WriteUpp app.
Need More Help?
We understand that not everything is black and white, so if you need some help, click "Submit A Request" ticket and one of our team will help you out as soon as possible.